Course title:
Certificate in Preparing to Work in Adult Social Care
Tutor:
Janet Hadfield
Course ID:
C3533034
Start date:
11/01/2022
End date:
12/10/2022
Timetabled sessions
Date Times Hours
Tue 11 Jan 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 12 Jan 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 18 Jan 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 19 Jan 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 25 Jan 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 26 Jan 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 01 Feb 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 02 Feb 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 08 Feb 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 09 Feb 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 22 Feb 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 23 Feb 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 01 Mar 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 02 Mar 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 15 Mar 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 16 Mar 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 22 Mar 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 23 Mar 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 29 Mar 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 30 Mar 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 05 Apr 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 06 Apr 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 26 Apr 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 27 Apr 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 03 May 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 04 May 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 10 May 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 11 May 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 17 May 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 18 May 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 24 May 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 25 May 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 31 May 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 01 Jun 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 07 Jun 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 08 Jun 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 14 Jun 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 15 Jun 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 21 Jun 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 22 Jun 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 28 Jun 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 29 Jun 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 05 Jul 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 06 Jul 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 12 Jul 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 13 Jul 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 19 Jul 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 20 Jul 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 06 Sep 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 07 Sep 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 13 Sep 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 14 Sep 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 20 Sep 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 21 Sep 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 27 Sep 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 28 Sep 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 04 Oct 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 05 Oct 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Tue 11 Oct 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Wed 12 Oct 2022 09:30 AM - 12:30 PM 3
Total sessions: 60
Total number of classroom hours: 180
Independent online hours: 0
Total hours: 180
Date
Tue 11 Jan 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 12 Jan 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 18 Jan 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 19 Jan 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 25 Jan 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 26 Jan 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 01 Feb 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 02 Feb 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 08 Feb 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 09 Feb 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 22 Feb 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 23 Feb 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 01 Mar 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 02 Mar 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 15 Mar 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 16 Mar 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 22 Mar 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 23 Mar 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 29 Mar 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 30 Mar 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 05 Apr 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 06 Apr 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 26 Apr 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 27 Apr 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 03 May 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 04 May 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 10 May 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 11 May 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 17 May 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 18 May 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 24 May 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 25 May 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 31 May 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 01 Jun 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 07 Jun 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 08 Jun 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 14 Jun 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 15 Jun 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 21 Jun 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 22 Jun 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 28 Jun 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 29 Jun 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 05 Jul 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 06 Jul 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 12 Jul 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 13 Jul 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 19 Jul 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 20 Jul 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 06 Sep 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 07 Sep 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 13 Sep 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 14 Sep 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 20 Sep 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 21 Sep 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 27 Sep 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 28 Sep 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 04 Oct 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 05 Oct 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Tue 11 Oct 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Date
Wed 12 Oct 2022
Times
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Hours
3
Total sessions:
60
Total number of classroom hours:
180
Independent online hours:
0
Total hours:
180
Venue:
Online Learning with Zoom and Canvas
Leads to qualification?    Yes
Level:     Level 2 (level information)
Qualification title:
Certificate in Preparing to Work in Adult Social Care (QCF)
Awarding body:
NCFE
Is this course part of a programme of study?
No
Programme details
Programme title:
Programme aims:
Programme description:
Who is this programme for?
Optional Activity Start date End date Fee
Fee
£0.00 or free on some courses if you are in receipt of some benefits
What skills or experience do I need to join this course?
What else do I need to know? Is there anything I need to provide?
- What you need: You will need an internet connection, speakers, a microphone and a webcam so that you can use our video learning platform, Zoom. If you’d like to understand more Zoom please visit: http://bit.ly/ZoomSpec - You will also need access to the internet outside of your sessions. You could do this using a smart phone, tablet, laptop or a desktop computer (at home or through a library etc.). - You will need a personal email address to join the WEA’s digital learning platform, Canvas so that you can receive resources, record your progress and achievement and to work with others and share ideas. If you want to understand more about our digital learning platform please visit: http://bit.ly/WEAonline
Course aim:
This qualification is designed for students interested in, or new to, working in adult social care in England. It covers a range of key areas of knowledge applicable to working in the sector.
Course description:
Before you can join this course, you will need to talk to a member of staff and do an initial assessment to make sure the course is right for you. For more information and to book an appointment please call 0300 303 3464. The course aims to introduce and develop your knowledge in areas relating to work in adult social care. This includes equality, legislation, safeguarding and the importance of communication. During the course you will develop an understanding of personal development and the role of the social care worker. You will learn how to handle and record information. You will explore health and safety legislation, safeguarding, duty of care and person-centred approaches.
By the end of the course I will be able to:
1. Understand different forms of effective communication in adult social care settings
2. Understand the importance of personal development
3. Be aware of Safeguarding and Protection of vulnerable adults in adult social care settings
4. Demonstrate understanding of Policies and Procedures, Health and Safety Legislation and confidentiality in adult social care settings
5. Identify the different work roles in adult social care
How will I learn?

We expect you to attend your classroom sessions and make time to do any required learning activities on your own.

The WEA tutor will use a range of teaching and learning activities and encourage you and the group to be actively involved in your learning. Your tutor will use tasks to see how you are learning, which may include quizzes, question and answer, small projects, discussion, written or practical work. Your tutor will give you feedback on your learning and progress.

WEA Canvas online learning area

Whether your course is face to face or online, the WEA uses its online learning area, called Canvas, to support your learning. This includes using Canvas to think about and record your progress and to give your tutor and the WEA feedback on your course. Your tutor may put resources or activities on Canvas to use during or between lessons. If you want to understand more about our Canvas online learning platform please visit: www.wea.org.uk/help

WEA online sessions/ courses- Zoom

If your course is online, you will join a virtual classroom using a weblink: the WEA uses a video-conferencing tool called Zoom. To use Zoom you will need a Laptop, Computer, Tablet or Smart phone which has speakers, a microphone and a video camera. For some courses, to submit work, we advise you to use a laptop or computer. For more information on Canvas and Zoom please visit www.wea.org.uk/help

Information and advice

For more information and advice about our courses phone our support team on 0300 303 3464 or email: courseenquiries@wea.org.uk

Support

We will ask you about any support you may need when you enrol. You can also telephone the Student Support Team on 0300 303 3464 or email studentsupport@wea.org.uk. The earlier you tell us about your needs the better. We will be able to provide help more quickly.

You can also find out about what support is available through our Student Handbook. This highlights what you can expect from WEA and what we expect from you. https://www.wea.org.uk/studentsupport/student-handbook

For information about course fees and financial support whilst you study visit https://www.wea.org.uk/studentsupport/course-fees-and-financial-support

For student support relating to specific learning need or disability visit https://www.wea.org.uk/studentsupport/learningsupport

What next?

Your tutor will talk with you about what you could do following this course.

You can also find information on our website to support you to make decisions about what you can do next https://www.wea.org.uk/studentsupport/whatsnextandprogression

You may benefit from speaking to the National Careers Service regarding your future career plans - call 0800 100 900 or visit their website https://nationalcareers.service.gov.uk